Book Prize

Posted in opportunities by Editor on October 23, 2009

30th Annual Louis Gottschalk Prize
Nominations due by 15 November 2009

The Louis Gottschalk Prize is for an outstanding historical or critical study on the eighteenth century and carries an award of $1,000. Louis Gottschalk (1899-1975) second President of ASECS, President of the American Historical Association, and for many years Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago, exemplified in his scholarship the humanistic ideals that this award is meant to encourage.

All scholarly books, including commentaries, critical studies, biographies, collections of essays by a single author and critical editions, written in any modern language are eligible. Books that are primarily translations and multiauthored collections of essays are not eligible.

  • To be eligible for this year’s competition, a book must have a copyright date between November 2007 and October 2008.
  • The author must be a member of ASECS at the time of submission.
  • Submission must be made by the publisher, and five copies must be received by 15 November 2009.

Send all submissions and inquires to: ASECS — Louis Gottschalk Prize, 2598 Reynolda Rd., Suite C, Winston-Salem, NC 27106; E-mail: asecs@wfu.edu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: