Call for Nominations | Marc Raeff Book Prize

Posted in books, opportunities by Editor on March 8, 2012

Marc Raeff Book Prize for Outstanding Work on Imperial Russia
Nominations due by 30 June 2012

The Eighteenth-Century Russian Studies Association, an affiliate organization of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now accepting submissions for the second annual Marc Raeff Book Prize. The prize is awarded annually for a publication that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for understanding Imperial Russia, particularly during the long eighteenth-century. The recipient of the award will be recognized with a cash prize, which will be presented in November 2012, during the ASEEES annual convention. The award is sponsored by the ECRSA and named in honor of Marc Raeff (1923-2008), historian, teacher, and dixhuitièmiste par excellence.


  • The publication must be a monograph, translation, or reference work about any aspect of the long eighteenth century, on any of the territories of the former imperial Russian state.  Textbooks, festschrifts, and edited collections of essays are not eligible unless they constitute significant and innovative contributions to the field.
  • The submitted work must bear a copyright date of either one or two years preceding the award year (e.g. for the 2012 competition the published copyright date should be 2011 or 2012).
  • It can be published in any language read by members of the ECRSA Prize Selection Committee (including Russian) and in any format (analog or digital).
  • The geographic area of study is broadly defined as the territories of the former imperial Russian state and the Soviet Union. The publication must deal in whole or in part with the long eighteenth century, here defined as the period from the last quarter of the seventeenth-century to the first quarter of the nineteenth-century.
  • Books that have received other prizes are eligible.
  • Scholarly merit, originality, and felicity of style will be the main criteria for selection. Submissions from scholars who are less than five (5) years from receiving their doctoral degree are particularly encouraged.

Nominating Instructions

  • Authors or publishers should send one copy of eligible publication to each ECRSA Prize Selection Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office.
  • Submissions should be clearly marked “Marc Raeff Book Prize.”
  • Nominations must be received no later than 30 June 2012.
  • Award winners will be personally notified of the award prior to 1 October 2012.

Composition of ECRSA Prize Selection Committee

  • George E. Munro
    Virginia Commonwealth University
    Department of History
    813 S. Cathedral Place
    Room 301
    PO Box 842001
    Richmond, VA 23284-2001
  • Steven A. Usitalo
    Northern State University
    Department of History and Geography
    Tech Center 369
    1200 South Jay Street
    Aberdeen, SD  57401
  • Maria Di Salvo
    Viale XI Febbraio 2
    27100 PAVIA
  • Ernest Zitser, President, ECRSA [ex-officio]
    Duke University
    International & Area Studies Department
    230 Bostock Library
    Box 90195
    Durham NC 27708-0195

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: