Enfilade

Exhibition | The Westminster Treasure: History in Silver, 1713–2013

Posted in exhibitions by Editor on January 26, 2013

From The Wallace:

The Westminster Treasure: History in Silver, 1713–2013
The Wallace Collection, London, 7 February — 28 April 2013

The Rosewood Cabinet 1827–77 © The Past Overseers’ Society, Westminster

The Rosewood Cabinet 1827–77 © The Past Overseers’ Society, Westminster

The Wallace Collection will be displaying a unique set of silver inscribed boxes belonging to the Past Overseers’ Society, Westminster. The collection began in 1713 and, as ever larger cases were commissioned to hold the previous case, they were each covered with etchings of historical events, royal engagements and portraits. The silver is beautiful and the inscriptions are fascinating, intriguing and compelling. Come to the Porphyry Court to see three hundred years of idiosyncratic history continuing up to 2012 with the Diamond Jubilee and the Olympics.

◊  ◊  ◊  ◊  ◊

On Monday, 18th February, 2013, Joan Reid from Past Overseers’ Society, Westminster will talk about the unique set of silver inscribed boxes belonging to the Society currently on display in the Porphyry
Court. This special lecture will take place in the Lecture Theatre. Free,
no need to book.

Comments Off on Exhibition | The Westminster Treasure: History in Silver, 1713–2013

London’s Inner Temple Records, 1505-1845, Now Online

Posted in resources by Editor on January 26, 2013

The Honourable Society of the Inner Temple is pleased to announce that its Calendars of Inner Temple Records, 1505 to 1845, are now available online and may be accessed via the Inner Temple’s website.

The Calendars detail the administrative decisions made by the Inn’s Bench Table and Parliament, and also publish many of the other series of documents contained in the Inn’s archive, including account books from 1682, account receipt books 1682 to 1870 and other miscellaneous documents. Genealogists will be able to search for ancestors admitted to the Inn and its Chambers as well as any that were called to the bar using a document wordsearch. The first volumes are edited by F.A. Inderwick Q.C. a former Treasurer of the Inn in 1898 and include his own excellent
introductions. This also contains the Register of Burials at the Temple Church from 1660 to 1715. The editorship is then taken over by R.A.Roberts in 1933 who continues with the introductions to each volume until 1800. More recently Celia Charlton has transcribed our records to produce the volume 1836 to 1845.

The volumes take some time to load due to their size and we thank you for your patience and hope that soon we will be able to split the size of the files and thereby speed up the process. Any enquiries should be addressed to the archivist Celia Pilkington, cpilkington@innertemple.org.uk