Enfilade

Panel Discussion | Enduring Versailles

Posted in books, lectures (to attend), online learning by Editor on April 23, 2021

Adam Perelle, Veue et Perspective du Chasteau de Versailles, avec le parterre d’eau du costé du Jardin, detail, 1680s.

◊  ◊  ◊  ◊  ◊

From Eventbrite:

Panel Discussion: Enduring Versailles
Online, Wednesday, 28 April 2021, 18.30–20.00 (EST)

To celebrate the launch of the new book edited by Mark Ledbury and Robert Wellington, The Versailles Effect: Objects, Lives, and Afterlives of the Domaine (Bloomsbury Academic, 2020), we invite you to join us for a panel discussion on the place of the château de Versailles, the Trianons, and the domaine in the history of art today. As symbol, system and ecology, the Château and Domain of Versailles has long held a central but complex place in the history of Western art and in the global imaginary. The panel—hosted by the Historians of Eighteenth-Century Art & Architecture— will discuss how and why Versailles still remains at the center of long-eighteenth-century studies today. How does the monument to the Bourbon regime fare in the era of recuperative histories of gender, race, and class? Why bother with Versailles?

This is an online event; a Zoom link will be sent, one day prior, to those who have registered (via Eventbrite).

Conveners
• Mark Ledbury—Power Professor of Art and Visual Culture, The University of Sydney
• Robert Wellington—Senior Lecturer, Centre for Art History and Art Theory, Australian National University

Panellists
• Basile Baudez—Assistant Professor in Architectural History, Department of Art and Archeology, Princeton
• Sarah Grandin—The Clark-Getty Paper Project Curatorial Fellow, Clark Art Institute
• Junko Takeda—Professor of History, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, Syracuse University
• Aaron Wile—Associate Curator, Department of French Paintings, National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.

US/UK/France
Wednesday, 28 April 2021
15.30–17.00 (PDT)
18.30–20.00 (EST)
23.30–01.00 (GMT)
00.30–02.00 (CEST)

Australia/New Zealand
Thursday, 29 April 2021
08.30–10.00 (AEST)
10.30–12.00 (NZST)

Should you wish to order a copy of The Versailles Effect, we invite you to take advantage of a 30% discount by entering the code AAH21 at the Bloomsbury website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: