Call for Papers: ASECS 2012 in San Antonio

Posted in Calls for Papers, Member News by Editor on August 6, 2011

2012 American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies Conference
San Antonio, Texas, 22-25 March 2012

Proposals due by 15 September 2011

The 2012 ASECS conference takes place in San Antonio, 22-25 March. Along with our annual luncheon and business meeting, HECAA will be represented by two panels chaired by Christopher Johns, Heidi Strobel, and Amber Ludwig and Melissa Hyde and Heidi Kraus. In addition to these, a wide selection of sessions that might be relevant for HECAA members are also included below. A full list of panels is available at the ASECS website.

◊  ◊  ◊  ◊  ◊

Exoticisms: Global Commodity Exchange in the Long Eighteenth Century (Historians of Eighteenth-Century Art and Architecture)

Christopher Johns, Heidi Strobel, and Amber Ludwig, for Strobel: Dept. of Archaeology and Art History, 1800 Lincoln Ave., U. of Evansville, Evansville, IN, 47722; Tel: (812) 746-9711; Fax: (812) 488-2430; E-mail: hs40@evansville.edu

Global commodity exchange radically altered European culture in the long eighteenth century. Exoticisms became fundamental to understanding colonization and routes of international exchange, as well as iconographic and stylistic transformations in the arts. Each paper proposal should define exoticism, its geographical parameters, and its unique and unfamiliar qualities. The role of material culture, decorative arts, and prints in defining and developing the idea(s) of exoticism(s) is of particular interest. Interdisciplinary approaches are welcome and encouraged.

◊  ◊  ◊  ◊  ◊

New Scholar’s Open Session (Historians of Eighteenth-Century Art and Architecture)

Melissa Hyde, University of Florida and Heidi Kraus, University of Iowa; Tel:  (Hyde) (352) 273 3057; E-mail: mhyde@ufl.edu AND heidiekraus@yahoo.com

This panel, sponsored by the Historians of Eighteenth-Century Art and Architecture, seeks papers that deal with any aspect of visual art and culture, or architecture. It is open to graduate students (priority will be given to those who are ABD) or who have received the Ph.D. in the past 5 years.

◊  ◊  ◊  ◊  ◊ (more…)

%d bloggers like this: